Skip to content Skip to navigation

EHNAC Develops Accreditation Program for ACOs

July 21, 2014
by Rajiv Leventhal
| Reprints

The Electronic Healthcare Network Accreditation Commission (EHNAC), a non-profit standards development organization and accrediting body, has developed an accreditation program that focuses on accountable care organizations (ACOs).

The Accountable Care Organization Accreditation Program (ACOAP) recognizes excellence on the part of ACOs and related IT service organizations by assessing network infrastructure and exchange connectivity in the areas of confidentiality and privacy, technology processes, and security in compliance with federal healthcare legislative mandates including HIPAA (the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act), and the HITECH (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability)Act.

In addition, the accreditation program focuses on technical performance, business processes and resource management, as well as other key performance quality metrics from areas such a population health, care coordination and other facets to establish trust with all stakeholders within the ACO environment, EHNAC officials say.

Through a self-assessment and consultative site review process, EHNAC will work with ACO accreditation candidates to identify ways to improve efficiency, elevate quality of service, and ensure that the organization aligns with current marketplace trends and standards.

“Today’s ACOs have taken the lead in driving the value-based care model and placing the importance of improving patient outcomes above all else,” Lee Barrett, EHNAC’s executive director, said in a statement. “This new program strengthens the data exchange platforms that make those clinical successes possible by giving a third-party ‘stamp of approval’ to those ACO stakeholders who have demonstrated the secure management of protected health information (PHI) and can provide assurances to their overall corporate integrity and trust between entities.”

Two beta organizations—the Washington, D.C.-based Capital Clinical Integrated Network (CCIN) and HEALTHEC, a healthcare IT and reporting solutions provider  based in N.J.—have been finalized as the first organizations to undergo the accreditation process. Within the beta process, the candidate organizations will be evaluated on their compliance with draft criteria, which will then be reviewed and refined prior to the program’s formal launch in Q4 2014.

Read the source article at



CMS Hospital Compare Website Updated with VA Data

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has announced the inclusion of Veterans Administration (VA) hospital performance data as part of the federal agency’s Hospital Compare website.

CMS Awards Funding to Special Innovation Projects

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has awarded 20, two-year Special Innovation Projects (SIPs) aimed at local efforts to deliver better care at lower cost.

Center of Excellence in Genomic Science to be Established in Chicago

The National Human Genome Research Institute has awarded $10.6 million over five years for the establishment of a new research center in Chicago to advance genomic science.

EHNAC and HITRUST Combine HIPAA Security Criteria, CSF Framework

The Electronic Healthcare Network Accreditation Commission (EHNAC) and the Health Information Trust Alliance (HITRUST) announced plans to streamline their accreditation and certification programs.

Halamka on MACRA Final Rule: “CMS is Listening and I Thank Them”

Health IT notable expert John Halamka, M.D., CIO of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, recently weighed in on the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) final rule.

Texas Patient Care Clinic Hit with Ransomware Attack

Grand Prairie, Texas-based Rainbow Children's Clinic was the victim of a ransomware attack on its IT systems in August, affecting more than 33,000 patients, according to multiple news media reports this week.