Feds Launch Access to Stage 2 Clinical Quality Vocabulary | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

Feds Launch Access to Stage 2 Clinical Quality Vocabulary

October 3, 2012
by Gabriel Perna
| Reprints

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, and Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), have announced that the trio of government agencies will soon launch the NLM Value Set Authority Center (VSAC).  This will provide downloadable access to all official versions of vocabulary Value Sets contained in Clinical Quality Measures that support Meaningful Use Stage 2.

The value sets provide lists of the numerical values and individual names from standard vocabularies used to define the clinical concepts (e.g. diabetes, clinical visit) used in the quality measures. Access to the Value Set Authority Center will require a free Unified Medical Language System Metathesaurus License. If an organization does not have an UMLS license, the agencies encourage for it to apply for one as soon as possible.

The Health IT Summits gather 250+ healthcare leaders in cities across the U.S. to present important new insights, collaborate on ideas, and to have a little fun - Find a Summit Near You!


See more on

betebettipobetngsbahis bahis siteleringsbahis