HIMSS Analytics Announces EMRAM Stage 7 Revalidation Process | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

HIMSS Analytics Announces EMRAM Stage 7 Revalidation Process

April 14, 2015
by Kayt Sukel
| Reprints
Click To View Gallery

Yesterday, HIMSS Analytics announced a new Stage 7 revalidation process for the Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (EMRAM).  Moving forward, the validation will have a three year lifespan.  All stage 7 organizations will need to initiate the revalidation process between the second anniversary of the original validation and its expiration date.

“As the health IT industry rapidly evolves, EMRAM standards must continue to reflect industry best practices,” said John P. Hoyt, executive vice president, HIMSS Analytics. “The revalidation process will ensure that Stage 7 organizations continue to reflect the optimal use and sharing of patient data toward improved healthcare quality and safety.”

As of fourth quarter 2014, 3.6% of hospitals and 6.2% of ambulatory facilities had achieved Stage 7 in the United States--meaning they are virtually paperless and are able to readily share clinical information electronically.  In most cases, the revamped revalidation process will include a pared-down site visit.  However, when a new core clinical vendor is implemented or an organization has changed ownership, one should expect a full three-person site visit.  Stage 7 healthcare organizations will receive notification and thorough instructions regarding the new process by year's end.


The Health IT Summits gather 250+ healthcare leaders in cities across the U.S. to present important new insights, collaborate on ideas, and to have a little fun - Find a Summit Near You!


See more on

betebet sohbet hattı betebet bahis siteleringsbahis