Kaiser, NorthShore Hospitals Earn Stage 7 Designation | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

Kaiser, NorthShore Hospitals Earn Stage 7 Designation

March 11, 2009
by root
| Reprints

Chicago-based HIMSS Analytics is honoring 15 hospitals with its first Stage 7 Award at next month’s HIMSS Annual Conference in Chicago. The hospitals are part of two integrated delivery systems: Kaiser Permanente, 12-hospital organization in Oakland, Calif., and the three-hospital NorthShore University HealthSystem in Evanston, Ill.

The award represents attainment of the highest level on the EMR Adoption ModelSM, which was developed by HIMSS Analytics in 2005 as a methodology for evaluating the progress and impact of electronic records for hospitals in its database. According to the organization, Stage 7 hospitals must meet the following requirements:

· Deliver patient care without the use of paper charts

· Are able to share patient information by sending secure standardized summary record transactions to other care providers

· Use their vast database of clinical information to drive improved care delivery performance, patient safety clinical decision support, and outcomes using business intelligence solutions

· Are best practice examples of how to implement sophisticated EMR environments that fully engage their clinicians

For more information on Stage 7, visit www.himssanalytics.org/hc_providers/stage7Award.asp.



Healthcare Associations to Congress: Extend MACRA Flexibilities by Three More Years

Several prominent healthcare associations and medical societies have written a letter to leading members of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, proposing to continue current MACRA flexibilities for an additional three years.

HIMSS Issues “Call to Action” on Nationwide Interoperability

The Chicago-based Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) has issued a “call to action” for the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and others to achieve nationwide interoperability.

Delaware’s Nemours Hospital Receives Stage 7 Designation

Nemours Alfred I duPont Hospital for Children, a pediatric hospital located in Wilmington, Del., has been recognized by HIMSS Analytics as a Stage 7 patient care organization.

Survey: Broad Usage of AI in Healthcare Still Two to Five Years Out

Roughly 48 percent of healthcare organizations currently use clinical intelligence solutions, but most healthcare organizations predict broad usage of artificial intelligence won’t happen for another two to five years, according to a HIMSS Analytics 2017 Essentials Brief.

KLAS: Providers’ Needs for Advanced Pop Health Solutions Ramp Up

Provider organizations’ needs in managing population health are as varied as the capabilities of the IT solutions designed to assist them, according to KLAS researchers following a new report.

Collen Award Goes to NLP Pioneer Carol Friedman

The American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI) will present the 2017 Morris F. Collen Award of Excellence to Carol Friedman, Ph.D., during the AMIA Annual Symposium.