Sylvia Burwell Brings on New Member to Health IT Policy Committee | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

Sylvia Burwell Brings on New Member to Health IT Policy Committee

November 6, 2014
by Rajiv Leventhal
| Reprints

Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell has named a new member to the Health Information Technology Policy Committee (HITPC) and renewed appointments for three members of the Health IT Standards Committee (HITSC).

The new HIPTC member is Anjum Khurshid, who is a senior advisor in the health systems division of the Louisiana Public Health Institute and will serve as a public health representative on HITPC. Khurshid, who served on the policy committee’s interoperability and health information exchange workgroup this summer, will replace Josh Sharfstein, secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene for the state of Maryland

Members of the HIT Standards Committee that have been reappointed are Floyd Eisenberg, M.D., quality measurement representative, Leslie Kelly Hall, consumer/patient representative, and Arien Malec, electronic exchange representative.

The two federal advisory committees were created through the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). The committees provide the opportunity for stakeholders and the public to provide direct input to HHS. The HHS Secretary appoints three members of the HITPC, four members are appointed by Congress, 13 members are appointed by the Comptroller General of the United States, and the President appoints other federal members. The HHS Secretary appoints members of the HITSC, with input from the HHS National Coordinator for Health IT.



NewYork-Presbyterian, Walgreens Partner on Telemedicine Initiative

NewYork-Presbyterian and Walgreens are collaborating to bring expanded access to NewYork-Presbyterian’s healthcare through new telemedicine services, the two organizations announced this week.

ONC Releases Patient Demographic Data Quality Framework

The Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ONC) developed a framework to help health systems, large practices, health information exchanges and payers to improve their patient demographic data quality.

AMIA, Pew Urge Congress to Ensure ONC has Funding to Implement Cures Provisions

The Pew Charitable Trusts and the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) have sent a letter to congressional appropriators urging them to ensure that ONC has adequate funding to implement certain 21st Century Cures Act provisions.

Former Michigan Governor to Serve as Chair of DRIVE Health

Former Michigan Governor John Engler will serve as chair of the DRIVE Health Initiative, a campaign aimed at accelerating the U.S. health system's transition to value-based care.

NJ Medical Group Launches Statewide HIE, OneHealth New Jersey

The Medical Society of New Jersey (MSNJ) recently launched OneHealth New Jersey, a statewide health information exchange (HIE) that is now live.

Survey: 70% of Providers Using Off-Premises Computing for Some Applications

A survey conducted by KLAS Research found that 70 percent of healthcare organizations have moved at least some applications or IT infrastructure off-premises.