Three Named to HIT Policy Committee | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

Three Named to HIT Policy Committee

May 8, 2009
by root
| Reprints

The Washington-based Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) has appointed three members to the Health Information Technology Policy Committee. David Blumenthal, head of the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, will serve as chair, and Michael Klag, dean of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, and Deven McGraw, director of the Health Privacy Project at the Center for Democracy and Technology, will be members.

In addition to the three individuals chosen by HHS, the HIT Policy Committee is also comprised of 13 members appointed by the Acting Comptroller General of the United States and four members appointed by the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate and the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.

The Health IT Policy Committee will make recommendations to the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology on a policy framework for the development and adoption of a nationwide health information infrastructure, including standards for the exchange of patient medical information, according to HHS. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 provides that the HIT Policy Committee shall at least make recommendations on standards, implementation specifications, and certifications criteria in eight specific areas.



NewYork-Presbyterian, Walgreens Partner on Telemedicine Initiative

NewYork-Presbyterian and Walgreens are collaborating to bring expanded access to NewYork-Presbyterian’s healthcare through new telemedicine services, the two organizations announced this week.

ONC Releases Patient Demographic Data Quality Framework

The Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ONC) developed a framework to help health systems, large practices, health information exchanges and payers to improve their patient demographic data quality.

AMIA, Pew Urge Congress to Ensure ONC has Funding to Implement Cures Provisions

The Pew Charitable Trusts and the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) have sent a letter to congressional appropriators urging them to ensure that ONC has adequate funding to implement certain 21st Century Cures Act provisions.

Former Michigan Governor to Serve as Chair of DRIVE Health

Former Michigan Governor John Engler will serve as chair of the DRIVE Health Initiative, a campaign aimed at accelerating the U.S. health system's transition to value-based care.

NJ Medical Group Launches Statewide HIE, OneHealth New Jersey

The Medical Society of New Jersey (MSNJ) recently launched OneHealth New Jersey, a statewide health information exchange (HIE) that is now live.

Survey: 70% of Providers Using Off-Premises Computing for Some Applications

A survey conducted by KLAS Research found that 70 percent of healthcare organizations have moved at least some applications or IT infrastructure off-premises.