CMS Announces 17 Additional Care Transition Sites | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

CMS Announces 17 Additional Care Transition Sites

August 17, 2012
by Gabriel Perna
| Reprints

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) recently announced 17 new sites that were selected to participate in its Community-based Care Transitions Program (CCTP). CCTP, created from the Affordable Care Act (ACA), tests models for improving care transitions over a five-year program from the hospital to other settings and reducing readmissions for high-risk Medicare beneficiaries. 

With the 17 new sites and the first 30 participants, the CCTP now includes 200 acute care hospitals partnering with community-based organizations (CBOs) across 47 sites to provide care transitions services for an estimated nearly 185,800 Medicare beneficiaries annually residing in 21 states, CMS says.

Each site in the CCTP program has the option to renew each year. CMS says it continues to accept new applications. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. The final panel review for 2012 will be in September, the agency says.

A full list of the 17 new CCTP sites can be found here.



Former Health IT Head in San Diego County Charged with Defrauding Provider out of $800K

The ex-health IT director at North County Health Services, a San Diego County-based healthcare service provider, has been charged with spearheading fraudulent operations that cost the organization $800,000.

Allscripts Touts 1 Billion API Shares in 2017

Officials from Chicago-based health IT vendor Allscripts have attested that the company has reached a new milestone— one billion application programming interface (API) data exchange transactions in 2017.

Dignity Health, CHI Merging to Form New Catholic Health System

Catholic Health Initiatives (CHI), based in Englewood, Colorado, and San Francisco-based Dignity Health officially announced they are merging and have signed a definitive agreement to combine ministries and create a new, nonprofit Catholic health system.

HHS Announces Winning Solutions in Opioid Code-a-Thon

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) hosted this week a first-of-its-kind two-day Code-a-Thon to use data and technology to develop new solutions to address the opioid epidemic.

In GAO Report, More Concern over VA VistA Modernization Project

A recent Government Accountability Office (GAO) report is calling into question the more than $1 billion that has been spent to modernize the Department of Veterans Affairs' (VA) health IT system.

Lawmakers Introduce Legislation Aimed at Improving Medicare ACO Program

U.S. Representatives Peter Welch (D-VT) and Rep. Diane Black (R-TN) have introduced H.R. 4580, the ACO Improvement Act of 2017 that makes changes to the Medicare accountable care organization (ACO) program.