CMS Announces Minor Changes to Some Stage 2 Meaningful Use Requirements | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

CMS Announces Minor Changes to Some Stage 2 Meaningful Use Requirements

December 6, 2012
by Mark Hagland
| Reprints
Federal authorities make small modifications to several MU requirements

The federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has announced modest changes to some of the technical requirements under Stage 2 of the meaningful use process under the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act. In an interim rule set to be published Dec. 7, CMS announced that it was replacing a small number of standards with new versions, and changing or exempting some meaningful use measures to allow providers to fulfill them in a more flexible way.

Among the changes:

>  The objective “Provide structured electronic lab results to ambulatory providers” has been modified, in order to allow for the alternative measure, “Hospital labs send structured electronic clinical lab results to the ordering provider for more than 20 percent of lab orders received.” As CMS officials noted, “In cases where hospitals send a large number of lab results electronically in response to orders they receive through non-electronic means (for example, by phone or on paper), the measure might not capture a hospital’s performance of the objectives.”

> The objective “Provide patients the ability to view online, download, and transmit information about a hospital admission” has been modified in its requirements. As CMS officials noted, “Because we intended for the regulation text to be consistent with the measure specifications as described in the preamble, we are correcting the regulation text …. To clarify that these measures are based on the number of unique patients discharged from a hospital’s inpatient or emergency department during the EHR reporting period.”

> Case threshold exemption: In the Stage 2 final rule, CMS adopted a policy beginning in FY 2014 that would allow eligible hospitals critical access hospitals with five or fewer inpatient discharges per quarter or 20 or fewer inpatient discharges per year to be exempted from reporting on any particular clinical quality measure. CMS is now expanding that exemption to FY 2013 as well.

 Technical errors: CMS officials say they have identified a small number of technical errors in the 2014 CQM e-specifications; they promise to issue those corrections by Dec. 31.

 In addition, has updated the “Data Element Catalog” (DEC) that helps to define what is required to calculate the clinical quality measures (CQMs) under meaningful use. Performing a gap analysis, CMS officials noted that, “If we do not act now to immediately update the verison of the DEC currently incorporated by reference, EHR technology would be required to be tested and certified to DEC version 1.0 and thus capture, in some cases, less data than necessary to support the accurate calculation and reporting of the 2014 CQMs.” CMS has also modified a few technical aspects of the Quality Reporting Document Architecture (“QRDA III”).

The full details of all these changes can be found at:

Get the latest information on Meaningful Use and attend other valuable sessions at this two-day Summit providing healthcare leaders with educational content, insightful debate and dialogue on the future of healthcare and technology.

Learn More



Community Data Sharing: Eight Recommendations From San Diego

A learning guide focuses on San Diego’s experience in building a community health information exchange and the realities of embarking on a broad community collaboration to achieve better data sharing.

HealthlinkNY’s Galanis to Step Down as CEO

Christina Galanis, who has served as president and CEO of HealthlinkNY for the past 13 years, will leave her position at the end of the year.

Email-Related Cyber Attacks a Top Concern for Providers

U.S. healthcare providers overwhelmingly rank email as the top source of a potential data breach, according to new research from email and data security company Mimecast and conducted by HIMSS Analytics.

Former Health IT Head in San Diego County Charged with Defrauding Provider out of $800K

The ex-health IT director at North County Health Services, a San Diego County-based healthcare service provider, has been charged with spearheading fraudulent operations that cost the organization $800,000.

Allscripts Touts 1 Billion API Shares in 2017

Officials from Chicago-based health IT vendor Allscripts have attested that the company has reached a new milestone— one billion application programming interface (API) data exchange transactions in 2017.

Dignity Health, CHI Merging to Form New Catholic Health System

Catholic Health Initiatives (CHI), based in Englewood, Colorado, and San Francisco-based Dignity Health officially announced they are merging and have signed a definitive agreement to combine ministries and create a new, nonprofit Catholic health system.