Commission Announces First ONC-ATCB 2011/2012 Certifications | Healthcare Informatics Magazine | Health IT | Information Technology Skip to content Skip to navigation

Commission Announces First ONC-ATCB 2011/2012 Certifications

October 1, 2010
by root
| Reprints

The Chicago-based Certification Commission for Health Information Technology (CCHIT) announced today that it has tested and certified 33 electronic health record (EHR) products under the Commission’s ONC-ATCB program, which certifies that the EHRs are capable of meeting the 2011/2012 criteria supporting Stage 1 meaningful use as approved by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS). Certification is required to qualify eligible providers and hospitals for funding under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). The certifications include 19 complete EHRs, which meet all of the 2011/2012 criteria for either eligible provider or hospital technology, and 14 EHR Modules, which meet one or more– but not all–of the criteria.

Many companies offering ONC-ATCB 2011/2012 certified EHR modules applied for certification of their products as certified complete EHRs but testing could not be completed on a small number of criteria (such as electronic prescribing) because planned updates to the test procedures by NIST were not available at the time of testing. These products are certified as EHR Modules in the interim but may return to become certified as complete EHRs in the near future. Providers interested in purchasing these products should follow CCHIT’s regular ONC-ATCB product certification updates available at as they occur.

The full list of EHR products that have received the Commission’s ONC-ATCB 2011/2012 certification are on CCHIT's site.

The Health IT Summits gather 250+ healthcare leaders in cities across the U.S. to present important new insights, collaborate on ideas, and to have a little fun - Find a Summit Near You!


See more on